Archives

All posts for the day December 8th, 2014

Mum

Published December 8, 2014 by Michelle Dennis - Author

image

image

Today’s my mum’s birthday! Hip hip hooray! 🙂 And I figured I’d write a short blog (but a little too long for Facebook)

image

Krystyna Richardson, born in Northam,  WA, to Polish immigrants in the 50’s (a lady never reveals her age!), is the strongest woman I know (and I know a lot). Here’s my mum with her family! (She’s the girl in the black pants)

image

I won’t bore you with all the details of Mum’s trials, but I will say that I don’t think I could have ever been as strong as she has been. Being a single mother of four children during the 80’s and 90’s, with no driving licence or very much money, she always managed to provide for us. We may not have had lavish things, but we had a comfortable home and eachother.

We had T.V, birthday parties, school and family. We danced to Madonna and Boy George, and relished in home~cooked Polish food. We grew up on The Muppets, Monkey Magic and The Brady Bunch, never feeling as though we were missing out on anything.

image

Cabbage Rolls!

image

Wonder Woman!

The strength of my mum, still today, astounds me. In 2010, she lost her son to tragic circumstances, and although losing my brother was (and still is) very hard to cope with, I can never imagine how I’d be if I lost my child. But, in true form and with grace, my mum didn’t crumble. She held the hands of her daughters and grand~children, and gave us her strength.

image

Now, in 2014, after the passing of her beloved mum, our Babcia, she celebrates another birthday with us ~ still mourning the loss of her mum and son, but always loving her family.

image

image

Helping my husband raise our two daughters, and his four sons, I’m always drawing on the things my mum taught me. (Like always wear clean knickers, cross your legs when you sit and never judge a book by its cover!) She taught me to be kind to everyone, be tolerant of those who probably don’t deserve it and take care of our animals. I know I’d never have been able to be a good mother (and step~mum) without learning from her.

Here’s a couple of photos of Mum, myself and my beautiful sister!

image

image

(Mum, you’re the best friend a girl could have!)

image

Last year Mum and I took a trip to London and Europe. It was my very first time and my dream holiday. I could not have asked for a better companion. We spent a week in London, visited family in Surrey, before embarking on a bus tour through Belgium, Amsterdam, Venice, Tuscany, Rome, the Vatican, Pisa, Switzerland and France. We made two life~long friends and had a fantastic time. This, to me, was truly the time of our lives!

image

On that note, I wish my mum a very happy birthday, many more to come and lots more memories to be made.

I love you, Mum!

Xx Mich 

Reading, Writing and Riesling

Book reviews, my news,

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Books and blues

Book reviews, Bookish things, Pen, Stories and Blues by Aarti Athavle

Thriving Under Pressure

Dr. Andrea Dinardo, Ph.D. Psychology

Kelsey Hough-Munger

life-lover, truth-sharer, fiercely free

The Book Review Directory

For Readers and Writers

Logical Quotes

A mystical place where magic happens

Commas and Ampersands

Books | Travel | Geek Chic

Karen J Carlisle

Writer, illustrator, gardener, chocoholic, tea-lover

Foodalicious

Live Life Like It's Your Last Bite

Char Kway Teow Love

Comfort on a plate

Gypsy Musings in Italy

Thoughts on Italy, life, travel, food, wine, culture and everything and anything in between

casually wild.

Los Angeles, CA. late 20s.